Around the Clubs

2017 Leo Baumgartner Cup

July 25th, 2017

The 2017 Leo Baumgartner Cup will be played Tuesday 1st August between North Coast Football Zone’s two FFA Cup winners Coffs United Lions and Coffs Coast Tigers.

In the FFA Cup, Coffs Coast Tigers lost to Byron Bay FC at Lismore, whilst Coffs City United beat Bangalow SC to progress to the final qualifying round in Newcastle. The Lions came just shy of the Westfield FFA Cup Round of 32, losing 3-1 to Broadmeadow Magic.

Now both teams will face off in the annual Cup, named after national football icon Leo Baumgartner, who dedicated his life to grassroots football, and spent several years coaching locally following a successful career abroad.

Urunga Raiders won the shield last year, beating Coffs United 3-0 to progress through to the FFA Cup. This year, due to a re-structure of the FFA Cup qualifying rounds, the shield stands alone as a commemorative match to remember a servant of the game.

Coffs City United FC v Coffs Coast Tigers FC
Tuesday 1st August 2017
At Forsythe Park (Mclean St) Coffs Harbour

Curtain Raiser Kick Off at 6.00pm – Premier Reserves
Cup Final at 8.00pm

Related Topics:

More NewsMore >

More News

Become a referee – act now and be qualified before the end of February.
We’re recruiting for referees for season 2021. We’d love to have… [more]
Ellie Carpenter Announced as Regional NSW Ambassador for Rising Young Female Footballers
Northern NSW Football and Football NSW are pleased to announce that Matildas… [more]
$50 million funding boost to benefit women’s sport facilities in regional NSW
Northern NSW Football has welcomed the announcement that sports facilities… [more]

Around The Clubs

Maitland Football Club’s eternal gentleman awarded 2020 Bill Turner Award
Maitland FC stalwart Paul Osland has been awarded the prestigious 2020 Bill… [more]
It’s all five stars at Sawtell FC
Many clubs in North Coast Football Zone have invested heavily in 2020 in taking… [more]
New facilities open at Forsyth Park for Coffs City United
New facilities for players, officials and spectators officially opened today at… [more]